Laid to Rest

Throughout Britain’s history, they have only ever had one female Prime Minister. Margaret Thatcher, recently died and had her funeral yesterday. As the Huffington Post reports, it was the largest funeral that Britain has had in over a decade; roughly 2,300 attended. The funeral was held at St. Paul’s Cathedral, a site I have been privileged enough to see already, and I believe that there is no better place to hold such an event. The event was held under extreme security in light of the recent Boston Marathon bombing, however, there were no incidents and no arrests. I don’t know that I’d want to cause a ruckus there either, they had over 700 guards in addition the the local police. I must say that, as with many idols of the past, I knew nothing of Thatcher until her death. And even now, the only thing I know is that she was a Prime Minister, and nicknamed “The Iron Lady.” It would be nice to find something about what type of leader she was, but I doubt that any news will do anything to shed unbiased light on the topic. It seems that history only remembers the valiant deeds and the dreadful mistakes, and seems to forget the minor decisions that account for the majority of a political figure’s term of office. I believe that if I were to do a search on some of her political actions, right after her death, I’m likely to only find information that praises her or descriptions of serious blunders while in office. While important, I don’t think that its the big decisions that necessarily define a leader, or a person for that matter. It’s the everyday choices that determine our worth; even though they are the most overlooked, and aren’t likely to make the news. In the case of Thatcher, I suppose we can assume that she made the right choices not only day to day, but in times of need. Why else would they honor her so?

Leave a comment